Fire Watch

Front Cover
Random House LLC, Jan 13, 2010 - Fiction - 288 pages
35 Reviews
Winner of six Nebula and five Hugo awards, Connie Willis is one of the most acclaimed and imaginative authors of our time.††Her startling and powerful works have redefined the boundaries of contemporary science fiction.††Here in one volume are twelve of her greatest stories, including double award-winner "Fire Watch," set in the universe of Doomsday Book and To Say Nothing of the Dog, in which a time-traveling student learns one of history's hardest lessons.††In "A Letter from the Clearys," a routine message from distant friends shatters the fragile world of a beleaguered family.††In "The Sidon in the Mirror," a mutant with the unconscious urge to become other people finds himself becoming both killer and victim.††Disturbing, revealing, and provocative, this remarkable collection of short fiction brings together some of the best work of an incomparable writer whose ability to amaze, confound, and enlighten never fails.

From the Paperback edition.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Fire Watch

User Review  - Bryan Alexander - Goodreads

An excellent, rich collection. Willis is well known as an sf novelist, but she should be at least as widely appreciated as a short story writer, based on this book. For me, one of ways I assess a ... Read full review

Review: Fire Watch (Oxford Time Travel .5)

User Review  - Clayton Yuen - Goodreads

A brilliant story line about time travel and human relationships, beautifully written in Connie Willis' style. Often, her repetitive themes are tedious, but she excels in creating a building adventure ... Read full review

Related books


Fire Watch
Service for the Burial of the Dead
Lost and Found
All My Darling Daughters
The Father of the Bride
A Letter from the Clearys
And Come from Miles Around
The Sidon in the Mirror
Daisy in the Sun
MailOrder Clone
Blued Moon

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2010)

Connie Willis is the award-winning author of Doomsday Book, Passage, To Say Nothing of the Dog and Bellwether. Connie has been awarded 10 Hugo Awards, 11 Locus Poll Awards and 6 Nebula Awards.

Bibliographic information