1912: The Year the World Discovered Antarctica

Front Cover
Text Publishing Company, Jul 25, 2012 - History - 352 pages
2 Reviews
  • The perfect Father's Day read, 1912: The Year the World Discovered Antarctica is a beautifully illustrated and entertaining history that chronicles the adventures of the Australasian, British, Norwegian, Japanese and German expeditions as they pushed through the final frontier of exploration – the desolate, frozen continent of Antarctica.
  • Young and energetic Australian/British geologist and self-proclaimed adventurer Chris Turney takes readers on an enthralling journey back to the year the world discovered the south pole, recounting incredible tales of endurance, self-sacrifice and technological advancement.
  • In a world exclusive, Chris Turney breaks some of the silence surrounding Scott's death and reveals a new aspect of what happened to his team during their tragic return from the pole.
  • Author will be a guest of a major literary festival in 2012.
  • Large author events potential surrounding the centenary of the discovery of the South Pole.
  • A must-read for fans of Tim Flannery, David Attenborough, Michael Palin and Simon Winchester.
  • To view photos and footage of Chris Turney's adventures in Antarctica as he researched this book, visit his website www.christurney.com

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - tjsjohanna - LibraryThing

Mr Turney leads the reader through the various expeditions that converged on Antarctica during the year 1912 and they are a wide ranging group of individuals with a wide ranging set of results. My ... Read full review

1912: The Year the World Discovered Antarctica

User Review  - Margaret Atwater-Singer - Book Verdict

Robert Falcon Scott's fatal attempt to beat Roald Amundsen to the South Pole in 1912 is well known, but that's not the whole story. Geologist Turney (climate change, Univ. of New South Wales ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2012)

Professor Chris Turney is an Australian and British Earth scientist, and an ARC Laureate Fellow in climate change at the University of New South Wales. He is the author of Bones, Rocks and Stars: The Science of When Things Happened and Ice, Mud and Blood: Lessons From Climates Past, as well as numerous scientific papers and magazine articles. In 2007 he was awarded the Sir Nicholas Shackleton Medal for outstanding young Quaternary scientists, and in 2009 he received the Geological Society of London's Bigsby Medal for services to geology.

You can read more about him on his website: www.christurney.com

Bibliographic information