Rhialto the Marvellous

Front Cover
Orion, Sep 29, 2011 - Fiction - 320 pages
48 Reviews
There is a Hole at the eastern fringe of the known universe. Deep within it hangs a lost star, Mora, with twin planets, Maske and Skay. On wild Maske there is a rocky peninsula inhabited by a clan of warlike dreamers, the Droads. The eldest son, Trewe, is by birthright Droad of Droad. The second son has no choice but to turn his face toward adventure. His name is Jubal Droad...

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Rhialto the Marvellous (The Dying Earth #4)

User Review  - Stuart - Goodreads

Rhialto the Marvellous (1984) is the final book in Jack Vance's Tales of the Dying Earth. The book consists of three stories, “The Murthe”, “Fader's Waft”, and “Morreion”, so in structure it is more ... Read full review

Review: Rhialto the Marvellous (The Dying Earth #4)

User Review  - Jim - Goodreads

A friend of mine had recommended this series to me, but had prepared me for slight disappointment with this fourth and final installment in The Dying Earth. Said friend much preferred the rollicking ... Read full review

About the author (2011)

Jack Vance (1916 - ) Jack Vance was born in 1916 and studied mining, engineering and journalism at the University of California. During the Second World War he served in the merchant navy and was torpedoed twice. He started contributing stories to the pulp magazines in the mid 1940s and published his first book, The Dying Earth, in 1950. Among his many books are The Dragon Masters, for which he won his first Hugo Award, Big Planet, The Anome, and the Lyonesse sequence. He has won the Hugo, Nebula and World Fantasy Awards, amongst others, and in 1997 was named a Grand Master by the Science Fiction Writers of America.

Bibliographic information