Looking for God in Harry Potter

Front Cover
Tyndale House Publishers, 2006 - Literary Criticism - 234 pages
93 Reviews
For the latest edition of this book that covers all 7 Harry Potter novels, see How Harry Cast His Spell.
John Granger, a Christian, a teacher of classic literature, and a father of seven children, explores the surprising reasons J. K. Rowling's books are so popular and examines what the author believes are strong Christian themes throughout the Harry Potter books. Granger helps readers understand the classic literary devices used in the Potter books and contends that Rowling is writing in the tradition of Tolkien and C. S. Lewis. Are they just a good read, or do they nourish the soul as well?

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
27
4 stars
24
3 stars
23
2 stars
17
1 star
2

Review: Looking for God in Harry Potter

User Review  - Stephanie Keaty - Goodreads

Like the author, I was vehemently apposed to the series of books captivating public schools and pop-culture which glorified magic and wizardry. Harry Potter would not be on my kids' bookshelves ... Read full review

Review: Looking for God in Harry Potter

User Review  - Jesse Hayhow - Goodreads

Essential for any Christian thinking about the ethics of reading Harry Potter. Read full review

All 7 reviews »

References to this book

About the author (2006)

John Granger is a teacher of classic literature and much-interviewed expert on Harry Potter. His self-published book on Potter received critical praise from such notables as John Warwick Montgomery, considered by many to be our generation's most important apologist for biblical Christianity. Granger lives with his wife and seven children in Port Townsend, Washington.

Bibliographic information