The Penguin Book of Gay Short Stories

Front Cover
David Leavitt, Mark Mitchell
Penguin, 1994 - American fiction - 655 pages
This collection of thirty-nine stories celebrates the diversity and unity of gay love and experience in the twentieth century.

What people are saying - Write a review

Penguin book of gay short stories

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

One would be hard put to assemble a collection of fiction to more dreary effect than this anthology of the gay male experience. That is surprising, however, because the editors allow themselves wide ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (1994)

David Leavitt's first collection of stories, "Family Dancing," was a finalist for both the National Book Critics Circle Award & the PEN/Faulkner Prize. "The Lost Language of Cranes" was made into a BBC film, & "While England Sleeps" was shortlisted for the Los Angeles Times Fiction Prize. Leavitt is also the author of "Equal Affections," "A Place I've Never Been," "Arkansas," & "The Page Turner." With Mark Mitchell, he coedited "The Penguin Book of Short Stories" & "The Pages Passed from Hand to Hand" & cowrote "Italian Pleasures." He is recipient of fellowships from the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation & the National Endowment for the Arts. He divides his time between Italy and Florida.

Bibliographic information