Passions Between Women: British Lesbian Culture, 1668-1801

Scarlet Press, 1993 - 314 頁
1 評論
"Where previous historians have concluded that a combination of censorship and ignorance excluded lesbian experience from written history before our era, Emma Donoghue has decisively proved otherwise. She dispels the myth that seventeenth- and eighteenth-century lesbian culture was rarely registered in language and that lesbians of this period had no words with which to describe themselves. Far from being invisible, the figure of the woman who felt passion for women was a subject of confusion and contradiction: she could be put in a freak show as a "hermaphrodite", revered as a "romantic friend", or jailed as a "female husband". By examining a wealth of new medical, legal, and erotic source material, and rereading the classics of English literature, Emma Donoghue has uncovered narratives of an astonishing range of lesbian and bisexual identities in Britain between 1668 and 1801. Female pirates and spiritual mentors, chambermaids and queens, poets and prostitutes, country idylls and whipping clubs all take their place in her intriguing panorama of lesbian lives and loves."--GoogleBooks.


讀者評論 - 撰寫評論

Review: Passions Between Women: British Lesbian Culture 1668-1801

用戶評語  - Elaine Burnes - Goodreads

Blurb: In the tradition of Lillian Faderman's Surpassing the Love of Men and John Boswell's Same-Sex Unions in Premodern Europe--a groundbreaking work of lesbian scholarship that presents a ... 閱讀評論全文


About this book
Who knew what

10 個其他區段未顯示

其他版本 - 查看全部



所有圖書搜尋結果 »

關於作者 (1993)

Emma Donoghue was born on October 24, 1969 in Dublin, Ireland. She received her BA degree from the University College Dublin and PhD in English from University of Cambridge. Her first novel was Stir Fry and it was a finalist for the Lambda Literary Award in 1994. Her next novel was Hood which won the 1997 American Library Association's Gay, Lesbian and Bisexual Book Award for Literature. Her novel Slammerkin was a finalist in the 2001 Irish Times Irish Literature Prize for Fiction. The Sealed Letter, published in 2008, was her latest work of historical fiction. It is based on the Codrington Affair - which was a divorce case that captivated Britain in 1864. This work was the joint winner of the 2009 Lambda Literary Award for Lesbian Fiction. She continued writing several award winning novels including the Room which was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize and on September 7, 2010 it made the short list. Her title Frog Music made The New York Times Best Seller List in 2014.