« PreviousContinue »
Hopkins* academy, incorporated in 1816, under the care of Mr. Lewis Sabin and Miss Louisa Billings; the income from the funds amounts to about $400 per
At South Hadley, four miles below Hadley, is the 'Woodbridge school, under the care of the Rev. Vinson Gould and Mr. D. R. Austin; it is for lads only; it has usually 30 or 40 scholars. One great object of the school is to exert a correct moral influence. At Northampton is the Round Hill school under the care of Mr. Joseph G. Cogswell. It is after the model of the German gymnasia, and embraces a course of very thorough English and classical instruction. At Southampton, eight miles south of Northampton, is the 'Sheldon academy,' incorporated in 1829. Samuel- Hunt and Mahlon P. Chapman, principals. A small philosophical apparatus is connected with the institution. Gratuitous lectures are given on various interesting subjects. Particular attention is paid to school keeping in the autumn. The expenses are, board, from $1 to $i 50 per week, fuel and lights included. Tuition, $3 per term, with a small charge for fuel. The summer term commences May 29, and the fall term September 4, 1833. The whole number of scholars in 1832 was 91 males, and 63 females.
Westfield* academy was incorporated in 1793. Number of scholars during the year ending Nov., 1832, 186 males, 217 females; tuition is paid in advance, $3 in summer, $3 25 in autumn, winter, and spring; students in languages pay fifty cents a quarter more than students in English studies. The academy is provided with a chemical and philosophical apparatus. Lectures are given on a variety of subjects; board is from $1 33 to $1 75 a week; the academy has a fund, the income of which is applied to the payment of teachers in part; the location is delightful; Rev. Emerson Davis is the principal, Miss Harriet J. Messer, preceptress, with nine assistant teachers. There has been an academy or high school at Southwick, furnished with a respectable building for a number of years. At Springfield $600 is paid annually for the support of a high school. There are 26 schools in the districts, besides three private ones on the United States territory; the whole amount paid for public and private instruction, is $6,100; the number of scholars is about 2,000. At Wilbraham,* is the Wesleyan seminary, incorporated in 1824, and a flourishing institution, embracing males and females, and a various course of study. At Monson* is a very flourishing institution, under the care of Rev. Sandford Lawton; the half township of land given to this academy was sold for $5,000; attached to the institution is a general fund of $6,000, a premium fund of $500, and a charity fund of $6,500, making in all $13,000; the charity fund is designed to aid young men in preparing for the ministry; facilities are enjoyed at this academy for manual labor; board is very reasonable. At West Brookfield is a female academy, incorporated in 1826. Kat Leicester* is one of the oldest academies in the State, incorporated in 1784; the funds amount to $19,000; average number of scholars, 60 or 70; it is in contemplation to erect a new building for the use of this academy. At Dudley* is Nichols academy, incorporated in 1819; Rev. William S. Porter, priucipal. At Milford* is an academy, incorporated in 1828, which has about 35 scholars each quarter. At Westminster is an academy, incorporated in 1833, which has 25 scholars, about one-half from the neighboring towns. The Baptists are adopting measures to establish a literary institution of a high order in the county of Worcester, and on a system affording opportunity for manual labor. It is proposed to raise the sum of $5,000 in shares of $25 each, of which $2,700 have been raised. The academy* at New Salem was incorporated in 1795: the Gates, in Marlboro', in 1830; funds, $2,000; the Framingham* in 1799, funds, $7,000; the Billerica in 1820; the Groton* in 1793, James Towner, principal. The female seminary at Uxbridge, is not incorporated; board. $1 40 a week. The Lancaster academy was incorporated in 1828; the Lerington in 1822 ; the Westford* in 1793; the Middlesex female at Concord, in 1806. The Haverhill
, incorporated in 1828, is under the care of Mr. Ebenezer Smith, Jr., and Miss L. S. Batchelder; tuition, $4 a term; board from $1 50 to $2 a week. Central village academy in Dracut, incorporated in 1833; the Bradford academy in the west parish of Bradford, was incorporated in 1804; tuition from 4 dollars to 6 dollars a quarter; Benjamin Greenleaf, principal; Miss Hasseltine, Miss Kimball, and Mrs. Harris, in the female department. The Dummer* academy at Newbury, incorporated in 1782, has large funds, given by the gentleman whose name it bears. The Newburyport academy, incorporated in 1807. At Byfield is a female school, established chiefly as a preparatory school to the Ipswich female seminary, yet advanced classes are received; it is under the care of Miss Louisa Packard; tuition, 5 dollars a quarter; board 1 dollar 75 cents a week. The Ipswich female seminary, was incorporated in 1828. Misses Z. P. Grant and Mary Lyon, teachers; 11 assistant teachers; whole number of pupils in 1832, 221. It is the leading object of the seminary to prepare young ladies of mature minds for active usefulness, especially to become teachers; none are received under the age of 14 years. The winter term commences on the last Wednesday in October, and continues 25 weeks, including a vacation of one week. The summer term commences the last Wednesday in May, and continues 16 weeks; Miss Grant is now temporarily absent on account of ill health; board, including washing and lights, is 1 dollar 75 cents a week; tuition for the winter term, 15 dollars, for the summer, 10 dollars, to be paid at entrance. At Topsfield is an academy incorporated in 1828; Marblehead in 1792; at Lynn, incorporated in 1805; at North Andover, the Franklin academy, incorporated in 1803; at East Bradford, the Merrimac, incorporated in 1822. Phillips, * at Andover, south parish, was incorporated in 1780, and has two departments, classical and English; the first is under the care of Mr. Osgood Johnson. John Adams, Esq., who was for many years at the head of this school, has lately resigned his office; he educated a very large number for college; the institution is provided with a respectable building and with a library of several hundred volumes; the English school was commenced in the autumn of 1830, under the care of Rev. Samuel R. Hall, who is well known by the publication of several important school-books; it has an excellent building of stone, is furnished with various apparatus, and is altogether a very eligible place for acquiring an education; a boarding establisbment is connected with both institutions, with land and mechanical accommodations for manual labor; a student, by laboring three hours in a day, may pay a considerable portion of his expenses. A short distance from the two institutions just named, is the Abbot female academy, incorporated in 1829; Samuel Lamson, A. M., principal, Mr. T. D. Smi Misses L. Tenney, M. P. Abbot, and Mrs. H. W. Everett, assistants; number of pupils, 74; board from 1 dollar 50 cents to 2 dollars a week; a convenient boardinghouse will soon be erected; tuition from 4 dollars to 5 dollars a term. At Woburn is the Warren academy, incorporated in 1830; funds, $8,000, and accommodations for manual labor. The South Reading academy was incorporated in 1828, and is 10 miles north of Boston; the building cost 2,700 dollars, defrayed chiefly by the Baptist society of South Reading; two departments, English and classical; Rev. Harvey Ball and Mr. Samuel Randall
, instructors; the number of students averages from 50 to 60; about one-half are destined for the Christian ministry, a large proportion of whom prepare for college, or directly for the Newton theological institution; a chemical and philosophical apparatus belong to the institution. At Charlestown is a female seminary, incorporated in 1833.
In Boston, in addition to what was stated on a preceding page, we notice the following schools: the Mount Vernon female school, kept in the masonic temple, Tremont street; Mr. J. Abbot, principal, assisted by Miss R. Leach and others; number of teachers in the winter quarter of 1833, 10; scholars, 135; Professor E. A. Andrews of New Haven, Connecticut, took charge of the school May Ist; in Boudoin street is a school for lads, under the care of Mr. Alfred W. Pike; in Salem street is an academy, incorporated in 1816; in Phillips place is a female school under the care of Mr. E. Bailey; in Tremont street, another female school, under the care of Mr. George B. Emerson; in Chauncy hall, is a large school of lads under the instruction of Mr. Thayer; at South Boston is a female seminary, superintended by Rev. J. L. Blake, and incorporated in 1833; Mr. F. Leverett keeps a select classical school; the Latin grammar school is under the care of Mr. Charles K. Dillaway. In addition, there is a great number of excellent schools, where the course of instruction is substantially the same as that pursued at the country academies.
In the counties south of Boston are the following institutions: at Dorchester a school under the care of Mr. Parish; in Weymouth, the Braintree and Weymouth academy, incorporated in 1828; Bridgewater* academy, incorporated in 1799, with 5,000 dollars funds; Bristol,* at Taunton, incorporated in 1792; Chatham, 1829; Days* at Wrentham, 1806; Derby at Hingham, 1797; 25,000 dollars funds; Friends at New Bedford, 1812; funds, 5,000 dollars; library, 1,200 volumes; Hanover, 1829; Kingston. 1816; Middleboro', 1829, Baptist, Leonard Tobey, Elizabeth Lewis, instructors; Sherburne, 1828; Sandwich, 1824; Plymouth, 1793; Nantucket, * 1801; in the same town 89 scholars attend 'Admiral Sir Isaac Coffin's school,' the expense of which is 1,243 dol. lars, besides which 49 private schools are returned, at an expense of 9,552 dollars; at Edgartown, there are two academies, Edgartown' and 'Dukes county,' both incorporated in 1833-students in both, 100; expense of both, 1,000 dollars; Partridge at Duxbury, 1829; Milton,* 1798; Randolph, 1833 ; Franklin, 1833; Newlon female, Miss A. Hall, instructress; board, 1 dollar 75 cents; tuition from 5 dollars to 7 dollars ; Young ladies school in North Bridgewater, Miss J. A. Perry, instructress; tuition from 2 dollars to 7 dollars.
COLLEGES AND HIGHER SEMINARIES. — Williams college. This institution is situated in Berkshire county, at Williamstown, in the north-western corner of the State, and within a few miles of the State lines of Vermont and New York; it was founded by a bequest of Colonel Ephraim Williams, of Hatfield, who commanded, for some time, two small forts on the banks of the Hoosac, in Adams and Williamstown, and who was killed in a battle with the French and Indians, September 8, 1755. He bequeathed his property to the establishment of a free school in the township west of Fort Massachusetts, on the condition that the town should be called Williamstown; trustees were appointed in 1785; the school was opened in 1791 ; in 1793, it was incorporated as a college, under the presidency of Rev. Ebenezer Fitch, D. D.; the first class, four in number, graduated in 1795. Dr. Fitch remained in office from 1795 to 1815, when he was succeeded by the Rev. Zephaniah Swift Moore, D. D., who resigned in 1821. The following gentlemen now compose the faculty:
Rev. Edward D. Griffin, D. D., president and professor of divinity.
Edward Lasell and Joseph L. Partridge, tutors. The course of studies does not materially vary from that pursued at most of the New England colleges. The expenses of tuition, room rent, library, board, washing, and wood, vary from 79 dollars 50 cents, to 106 dollars 50 cents
, yearly. The income of the charity funds is sufficient to pay the tuition of more than 30 students, and is divided among applicants according to their necessities; half of it is alike applicable to all indigent young men of merit, whether designed for the Christian ministry or not.
Berkshire Medical institution. This institution is established in Pittsfield, Berkshire county; the average number of students is from 80 to 100; the course of instruction is a lecture and reading term; tuition for the former, $40/ for the latter, $35; the former commences on the first Thursday of September and continues 15 weeks; the latter on the first Wednesday of February and continues, with the exception of three weeks' vacation in May, to the last Wednesday in August; for this institution, $3,000 have been raised by subscription, and $5,000 given by the legislature; the professors are Childs, Williams, S. White, S. P. White, Coventry, and Dewey.
Amherst college. This college is situated in Amherst, a short distance from the east bank of Connecticut river, 8 miles east of Northampton, 80 miles west from Boston, 55 miles east of Williams college, and 80 miles north of Yale college; it is near the center of the old county of Hampshire, in a very favorable location in all points of view; it was established in 1821, under the presidency of the Rev. Dr. Moore, and was incorporated by the legislature of Massachusetts in 1825. Dr. Moore died in June, 1823, and was succeeded by the Rev. Heman Humphrey, D. D., who now fills the office. Four large college buildings have been erected, each four stories in height, three of them containing 32 rooms each for students, and the fourth comprising a large chapel, library-room,
two rooms for the mineralogical cabinet, and philosophical apparatus, a rhetori-
-, professor of Hebrew and Latin.
Justin Perkins and Wm. S. Tyler, tutors. Harvard University. This institution is located at Cambridge, Middlesex county, on Charles river, four miles west of Boston. About the year 1636, the general court advanced four hundred pounds toward the establishment of a college; in 1637, the college was located at Newtown; in 1638, the name of the town was changed to Cambridge; in 1638, Rev. John Harvard of Charlestown, left a bequest to the college of £779 278. 2d. ; in honor of this munificent benefactor, the general court gave to the college the name Harvard. Mr. Nathaniel Eaton was the first instructor, but was soon dismissed. The following is the list of presidents of the college with the time of their administration: Rev. Henry Dunster, 1640–1659. Rev. Charles Chauncy, 1654–1671. Leonard Hoar, M. D., 1672–1675. Rev. Urian Oakes, 1679–1681. Rev. John Rogers, 1683-1684. Rev. Increase Mather, D. D., 1684–1701. Rev. Samuel Willard, vice-president, 1701–1707. John Leverett, F. R. S., 1708–1724. “Rev. Benjamin Wadsworth, 1725–1737. Rev. Edward Holyoke, 1737-1769. Rev. Samuel Locke, D. D., 1770-1773. Rev. Samuel Langdon, D. D., 1774–1780. Rev. Joseph Willard, D. D., 1781-1801. Rev. Samuel Webber, D. D., 1806– 1810. Rev. John T. Kirkland, D. D., LL. D., 1810–1828. Hon. Josiah Quincy, LL. D., 1828. The following are the principal donations which have been made to the university by the State: In 1638, £100; in 1640, the Charles river ferry, for a number of years worth £12 annually, in 1786 worth £200 annually; two other bridges over the same river pay £100 annually: for a long series of years annual grants were made by the legislature ; $15,000 from lands in Maine; Massachusetts hall built in 1723; Hollis hall in 1763; Harvard in 1765; Holworthy and Stoughton, built by lotteries; in 1814, $10,000 a year for ten years; the library contains 40,000 volumes, and is of great value; in 1817 the library of Professor Ebeling of Hamburgh, was bought, and presented to the library by Col. Israel Thorndike, containing upward of 3,000 volumes wholly on American history, geography, and statistics; in 1823, 1,200 volumes on the same subjects were purchased of D. B. Warden, American consul at Paris; in 1830, 400 volumes on the same subjects, not included in the preceding purchases, were procured in London ; it contains the most complete collection in the world on American history and its kindred subjects; the collection of maps and charts exceeds 13,000. The library is opened freely to literary men of all parties, sects, and persuasions, with no other restrictions than what are essential to its preservation, and to its appropriate use in the advancement of general science and literature.' The income of Harvard college is between $40,000 and $50,000 per annum, and the expenditure about the same, about half from tuition; the personal property of the college is over $300,000; the corporation are President Quincy, Rev. Eliphalet Porter, D. D., Hon. Charles Jackson, Nathaniel Bowditch, Joseph Story, and Francis C. Gray; Thomas W. Ward, Esq., treasurer. The overseers, in addition to the governor, lieut.-governor, council
, senate, speaker of the house of representatives, and president of the university, are 29 in number, 15 laymen and 14 clergymen. The members of the faculty are as follows: Josiah Quincy, LL. D., president.
Massachusetts prof. of natural history.
Alford prof. of nat. rel. mor. phil., &c.
Hancock prof. of Hebrew and oriental literature.
Royall prof. of law.
Cornelius C. Felton, prof. of Greek and permanent tutor. Andrew P. Peabody, Henry S. McKean, Jole Giles, and Benjamin Peirce, tutors; Edmund L. Cushing, Chandler Robbins, James F. Clark, and Samuel A. Devens, proctors; Oliver Sparhawk, steward. The necessary expenses are as follows; tuition, room rent, library, &c., $90; board forty weeks, $73 50; textbooks, $12 50; special repairs, $3; total, $179; wood is $6 or $7 a cord; washing from $3 to $5 a quarter.
Law school connected with Harvard University. The design of this institution is to afford a complete course of legal education for gentlemen destined for the bar in different parts of the United States, and also elementary instruction for gentlemen desiring to qualify themselves for public life or commercial business; it is under the immediate superintendence of the Royall professor of law. Judge Story resides at Cambridge, and during the intervals of his official duties, assists in the direction of the school; the terms and vacations correspond with those of the undergraduates; the fees for instruction are $100 per annum, for which the students have the use of lecture rooms, the library, and the privilege of attending all the public lectures of the university gratuitously. No previous examination is necessary for admission, and constant residence at Cambridge is not deemed indispensable; the course of study embraces law of personality, commercial and maritime law, law of real property, equity, crown law, civil law law of nations, constitutional law.