When Darkness Falls and Other Stories

Front Cover
Penguin UK, Nov 23, 2016 - Juvenile Fiction - 120 pages
A superb storyteller who keeps his readers in thrall’—Statesman In When Darkness Falls, Ruskin Bond emerges yet again as a master storyteller: a deceptively effortless style, an eye for the extraordinary in seemingly humdrum lives, and a deep empathy with his characters—even when they belong to the supernatural realm. We meet the war veteran Markham whose deformation ends in tragedy; Susanna, the merry widow who loved each of her seven husbands to death; and Kundan Singh, the reckless rake whom women find irresistible. There are also fascinating stories from the author’s childhood, about the eccentric characters and memorable animals of old Dehradun. Told with Bond’s classic wit, these charming stories will enchant and delight in equal measure.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Selected pages


About the Author
The Garden of Memories
Return of the White Pigeon
Susannas Seven Husbands
Colonel Wilkies Good Hunting

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2016)

Ruskin Bond is one of India’s best-loved writers, who has written over 500 short stories, essays and novellas, and more than forty books for children. He won the Sahitya Akademi Award in 1992, the Padma Shri in 1999 and Padma Bhushan in 2014.

Bibliographic information