The Summer that Never was: An Inspector Banks Mystery

Front Cover
Pan Books, 2003 - Banks, Alan (Fictitious character) - 498 pages
10 Reviews
A skeleton has been unearthed. Soon the body is identified, and the horrific discovery hits the headlines . . . Fourteen-year-old Graham Marshall went missing during his paper round in 1965. The police found no trace of him. His disappearance left his family shattered, and his best friend, Alan Banks, full of guilt . . . That friend has now become Chief Inspector Alan Banks, and he is determined to bring justice for Graham. But he soon realises that in this case, the boundary between victim and perpetrator, between law-guardian and law-breaker, is becoming more and more blurred . . . 'Move over Ian Rankin - there's a new gunslinger in town looking to take over your role as top British police procedural author' INDEPENDENT ON SUNDAY

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - scot2 - LibraryThing

I enjoy all Inspector Banks novels and I enjoyed this one. Extreme political correctness does exist in the UK. I did skim a lot of the diary written by one of the characters. However, the actual story was good and I love the characters of banks and Annie. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - neddludd - LibraryThing

Not one of the best. There's a particularly annoying, and very slow passage, in which Annie and her partner discuss their joint case. How much better to see the detectives actually solving the crime ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2003)

THE SUMMER THAT NEVER WAS is the thirteenth Inspector Banks mystery. The series has won numerous awards in Britain, Europe, Canada and the United States. The new Inspector Banks novel, PLAYING WITH FIRE, will be published in hardback in January 2004. Peter Robinson grew up in Yorkshire, but now lives in Toronto.

Bibliographic information