« PreviousContinue »
ADDENDA ET CORRIGENDA.
Page 3, line 2, parallel with Syrian Language, read in margin French.
18, 11, parallel with the Viceroy, read in margin Earl of Tyrconnell.
15, for France in margin, read French.
8, 13, for Asinio, read Asimo. 47,
2, for the haveing joyned, read that haveing joyned. 97,
7, for Sarsfield in margin, read Berwick.
17. for Col. Art Maguire in margin, read Col. Art Mac Mahon. 169,
6, for one of whom was President, read three of whom were Presidents. 173,
33, for jointe, read joint.
5, for au Loix, read aux Loix.
8, for meux, read mieux.
33, at viarum obsessio ; audiebantur passim, a comma after obsessio, and after passim a semicolon,
12, for le masse, read la masse. 239,
20, after premièrement, a comma. 240, 32, for metelassée, read matelassée. 256, 34, 35, after profaned, a comma, and after religion, a semicolon. 261,
5, for venerabilibus fratribusc. read venerabilibus fratribus Christiano. 298, -28, for Note 85, Page 53, read Note 85, Page 33. 329,
1, for Note 112, Page 49, read Note 112, Page 40. 415, 26, for Caslebarin, read Caslebar (a French error for Castlebar) in.
HE Members of the Irish Archæological Society
are presented, in this volume, with the Macaria T
Excidium, an account of the War of the Revolution in Ireland from 1688 to 1691, by Colonel Charles O'Kelly. The Colonel's work, being the
only narrative of that contest known to exist from the pen of an Irish Officer on the side of King James II., and being, so far, calculated to throw light on an interesting portion of our history from the precise quarter whence it was most needed, had engaged the attention of the Society, from the period of its, formation. At the first General Meeting of the Society, No. 202, Great Brunswick-street, Dublin, May 3rd, 1841, the Report from the Provisional Council, read by the Secretary, the Rev. James Henthorn Todd, announced the Irish Colonel's work, as the "third tract,” intended for publication ; and to be "edited by George Petrie, Esq., from a manuscript which had recently been added to the collection of Trinity College.”
This design was soon after relinquished, in consequence of the appearance; the same year, of an edition of the Macariæ Excidium, by
Thomas Crofton Croker, Esq., among the Transactions of the London Camden Society, in the volume entitled, “Narratives illustrative of the Contests in Ireland in 1641 and 1690." There was not, in fact, any such difference, between the MS. used by Mr. Croker, and the Trinity College MS., as would have justified the expense of printing the latter, after the publication of the former.
In the course, however, of 1842, the attention of the Irish Archæological Society was again directed to the Macariæ Excidium, by the discovery of the MS. containing the Latin version, which is printed,
with the English, in this volume. This Latin copy was then in the possession of the Rev. James Scott, R. C. C. of Carrickmacross, and since of Clones, County Monaghan, by whom it was first submitted to the Editor. According to the testimony of that gentleman, this MS. had formed part of a collection of books belonging to Dr. Daniel O'Reilly, who made his collegiate studies partly at Antwerp, partly at Douay"; was ordained Priest in 1728 ; was President, for several years, of the Irish College at Antwerp; and ultimately Roman Catholic Bishop of Clogher, from about 1748 to 1776. The Latin copy was transmitted from him to another Dr. O'Reilly, also a President of the Irish College at Antwerp, as well as Bishop of Clogher ; then to the Rev. Hugh O'Reilly, likewise President of that College, and some years since R. C. Parish Priest of Carrickmacross ; from him it devolved to his niece, and from her to the Rev. James Scott. Mr. Scott, in a letter addressed in 1842 to the writer of these lines, having made known the general nature of the Latin MS., and obligingly forwarding it to him for inspection, he, perceiving how much more matter it contained than the MS. printed by the London Camden Society, submitted the discovery thus made to the Rev. J. H. Todd. Dr. Todd brought the subject before the Council of the Irish Archæological
Society, . See, on those Colleges, Note 4, p. 169, and Errata.