The White Mountains

Front Cover
Simon and Schuster, May 13, 2014 - Juvenile Fiction - 272 pages
Monstrous machines rule the Earth, but a few humans are fighting for freedom in this repackaged start to a classic alien trilogy ideal for fans of Rick Yancey’s The 5th Wave.

Will Parker never dreamed he would be the one to rebel against the Tripods. With the approach of his thirteenth birthday, he expected to attend his Capping ceremony as planned and to become connected to the Tripods—huge three-legged machines—that now control all of Earth. But after an encounter with a strange homeless man called Beanpole, Will sets out for the White Mountains, where people are said to be free from the control of the Tripods.

But even with the help of Beanpole and his friends, the journey is long and hard. And with the Tripods hunting for anyone who tries to break free, Will must reach the White Mountains fast. But the longer he’s away from his home, the more the Tripods look for him…and no one can hide from the monstrous machines forever.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Contents

One Capping Day
1
Two My Name Is Ozymandias
22
Three The Road to the Sea
46
Five The City of the Ancients
82
Six The Castle of the Red Tower
119
Seven The Tripod
150
Eight Flight anda Follower
170
Ten The White Mountains
211
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2014)

John Christopher was the pseudonym of Samuel Youd, who was born in Lancashire, England, in 1922. He was the author of more than fifty novels and novellas, as well as numerous short stories. His most famous books include The Death of Grass, the Tripods trilogy, The Lotus Caves, and The Guardians.

Bibliographic information