The Men and the Girls

Front Cover
Black Swan, 1993 - Conflict of generations - 318 pages
1 Review
Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified
Multi-million copy bestselling author Joanna Trollope's insight into human relationships is both unparalleled and fascinating - and in The Men and the Girls she presents an excellent array of characters who interact in a complex and intriguing dance. Fans of Elizabeth Noble, Erica James and Amanda Prowse will not be disappointed...

'One of the finest chroniclers of the way we live now' -- Independent on Sunday
'The queen of the domestic dilemma...observant and emphatic' -- The Sunday Times
'A rare pleasure to find characters so likeable that one cares what becomes of them' -- Evening Standard
'A delight. Trollope is never less than graceful and searchingly observant' -- Independent
'A great read' -- ***** Reader review
'Easy to get lost in' -- ***** Reader review
'Vastly entertaining' -- ***** Reader review
'Cosy, subtle - a really lovely read!!' -- ***** Reader review
'A page turner' -- ***** Reader review
'Loved it from start to finish' -- ***** Reader review

****************************************************************
AT FIRST THEIR AGES MADE NO DIFFERENCE...

Julia Hunter and Kate Bain have found true happiness with men old enough to be their fathers. Julia organises her husband Hugh and their cherubic twins with ruthless efficiency and Kate has lived with James, for eight years, and although she refuses to marry him, she's apparently devoted to him. Hugh and James, lifelong friends, feel blessed indeed.

But age differences cannot be ignored forever and when James accidentally knocks a fiercely independent spinster from her bicycle a chain of events is set off in which many suppressed discontents and frustrations emerge. Kate begins to seek out friends of her own age and Julia's career begins to blossom just as her husband's starts to decline ...

The tranquil lives of the men and the girls seem shattered as new relationships develop and old anxieties surface.

What people are saying - Write a review

Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified

THE MEN AND THE GIRLS

User Review  - Kirkus

Happy endings of the most defensible kind, helped along by an unlikely good fairy—Miss Beatrice Bachelor, a ``real original and very brave''—abound in Trollope's latest take on love and life in ... Read full review

Review: The Men and the Girls

User Review  - Wanda St.Hilaire - Goodreads

The author has Americans living in England in the book using British phrases and terms. Not very good research; I'm rather surprised an editor doesn't catch this. Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (1993)

Joanna Trollope is the author of eagerly awaited and sparklingly readable novels often centred around the domestic nuaunces and dilemmas of life in present-day England. She has also written a number of historical novels and Britannia's Daughters, a study of women in the British Empire.
Joanna Trollope was born in Gloucestershire and now lives in London. She was appointed OBE in the 1996 Queen's Birthday Honours List for services to literature.

Bibliographic information