Nobel Laureates and Twentieth-Century Physics

Front Cover
Cambridge University Press, Oct 14, 2004 - Science - 533 pages
Using an original approach, Mauro Dardo recounts the major achievements of twentieth-century physics--including relativity, quantum mechanics, atomic and nuclear physics, the invention of the transistor and the laser, superconductivity, binary pulsars, and the Bose-Einstein condensate--as each emerged. His year-by-year chronicle, biographies and revealing personal anecdotes help bring to life the main events since the first Nobel Prize was awarded in 1901. The work of the most famous physicists of the twentieth century--including the Curies, Bohr, Heisenberg, Einstein, Fermi, Feynman, Gell-Mann, Rutherford, and Schrödinger--is presented, often in the words and imagery of the prize-winners themselves. Mauro Dardo is Professor of Experimental Physics at Amedeo Avogadro University. He has served as Dean of the new Faculty of Sciences at the University of Turin in Alessandria, Piedmont, and has also served as Director of the university's new department of Sciences and Advanced Technologies.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

PROYECTO GENOCIDIO
NORTE AMERICANOS NEGRO PONTE USA EE.UU. ASESINANDO Y TORTURANDO.
OBAMA NEGRO PONTE TORTURAS DEL AREA 51 (Killing Softly) NARCOTRAFICANTES VIOLADORES ASESINOS LADRONES
LA FAMILIA BUSH NARCOTRAFICANTES VIOLADORES ASESINOS LADRONES
LA FAMILIA BILLINGER NARCOTRAFICANTES VIOLADORES ASESINOS LADRONES
NEGRO PONTE TORTURAS DEL AREA 51 (Killing Softly) NARCOTRAFICANTES VIOLADORES ASESINOS LADRONES
EL REY DE ESPAÑA CONSUME DROGAS NARCOTRAFICO DEL REY ESPAÑOL CIUDADANOS VENEZOLANOS USADOS COMO RATAS LEY ANTI MIND CONTROL TORTURAS MENTALES.
https://docs.google.com/open?id=0B7rdd1w6dkcSUF9UdExPc2hKQXM
http://twittervenezuela.co/group/carlaangolatwittervenezuela
DENUNCIA A MINISTROS CHAVISTAS HOLOCAUSTO LATINO AMERICANO Julio Cesar Pineda WWW.docs.google.com/open?id=0B7rdd1w6dkcSamZTX1ZNWWZmVkk
Universidad de Carabobo.
JUAN CARLOS VALLEJOS VZLA 04144229169
Facultad de derecho.
BRUJULA INTERNACIONAL
Lic. Julio Cesar Pineda
Lic. Mariel Sofía Rodríguez
Lic. Nitu Perez O.
PAGINA WEB: WWW.docs.google.com/open?id=0B7rdd1w6dkcSamZTX1ZNWWZmVkk
Nos comunicamos con ustedes por que entre las relaciones que tienen a nivel internacional pudiesen encontrar ayuda legal para los crimenes
que se encuentra realizando el presidente de Venezuela.
Este tipo de crimenes son conciderados como genocidio, a estas personas venezolanos les realizan cauterizaciones, radiaciones y otros tipos de deterioros.
La puebes que tenemos en niestro poder:
a. Libros.
b. Bases de datos de Casos.
c. Informaciones de venezolanos que les realizan este tipo de crimenes.
d. Videos de estas tecnologias.
e. El caso fuen enviado a Delsa Solorzano.
Por favor necesitamos urgentemente su ayuda.
DIPUTADOS:
Abelardo Díaz TAC MUD @abelardo_diaz
Alfonso Marquina MIR MUD @alfonsomarquina
Alfredo Osorio ZUL MUD @alfredoosoriou
Alfredo Ramos LAR MUD @alfredoaramos
Americo De Grazia BOL MUD @americodegrazia
Andrés Velásquez BOL MUD @andresvelasqz
Antonio Barreto MUD @barretosira
Bernardo Guerra MUD @Bernardoguerrac
Biagio Pilieri YAR MUD @biagiopilieri
Carlos B CAR MUD @ceberrizbeitia
Carlos M ANZ MUD @camichelangeli
Carlos Ramos MUD @carlose_ramos
César Rincones SUC MUD @cesar_rincones
Dennis F COJ MUD @adennisf
Deyalitza A MUD @dearay66
Dinorah F MIR MUD @dinorahfiguera
Edgar Zambrano MUD @ezambranoad
Eduardo Gómez LAR MUD @egomezsigala
Elías Matta ZUL MUD @eliasmattaw
Eliezer Sirit MUD @EliezerSirit
Enrique Catalán MUD @enriquecatalan
Enrique Márquez MUD @enriquemarquez
Enrique Mendoza MUD @enriquemendozad
Freddy Paz ZUL MUD @freddypaz
Gabino Paz TAC MUD No tiene
Gregorio G FAL MUD @goyograterol
Hermán Núñez SUC MUD @hernanjnunez
Hermes García SUC MUD No Tiene
Hernán Alemán ZUL MUD @hernanaleman10
Hiram Gaviria ARA MUD @hiramgaviria
Homero Ruiz MUD @homeroruizvivas
Ismael García MUD @ismaelpodemos28
Iván Colmenares MUD No Tiene
Jacinto Romero ANZ MUD @jacintoromero_l
Jesus Paraqueima MUD @jparaqueima
José Manuel G GUA MUD No Tiene
José “Mazuco” ZUL MUD @comisariomazuco
Juan Carlos CalderaMIR MUD @calderajuan
Juan P. García MON MUD @juan_pablog
Juan Romero ZUL MUD @juanbromero
Julio Borges MIR MUD @julioborges
Julio C. Reyes BAR MUD No Tiene
Julio Montoya ZUL MUD @juliocmontoya
Leomagno Flores MUD @leomagnofl
Marcos Figueroa MUD @marcosfigueroa
María Corina M MIR MUD @mariacorina2011
Mervin Méndez MUD @mervinmendezq
Miguel Ángel R TAC MUD @miguelcontigo
Miguel Cocchiola MUD @miguelcocchiola
Miriam de Montilla APU MUD @miriamdmontilla
Morel Rodríguez NE MUD @morelrr
Omar Barboza ZUL MUD No Tiene
Orlando Ávila MUD @orlandoaviladip
Richard Arteaga MUD @richardarteaga
Richard Blanco MUD @richardblancoc
Richard Mardo MUD @richardmardo
Rodolfo Rodríguez
 

Contents

The triumphs of modern physics 19011950
31
New frontiers 19512003
235
New vistas on the cosmos
279
The small the large the complex
319
Big physicssmall physics
369
New trends
409
Glossary of terms
475
Notes
495
Select bibliography
513
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

Bibliographic information