When Will There Be Good News?: A Novel

Front Cover
Little, Brown, Sep 24, 2008 - Fiction - 400 pages
121 Reviews
Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified
The third installment in Kate Atkinson's wildly beloved series of Jackson Brodie Mysteries: a complex tale of murder, coincidence, and connected lives.

On a hot summer day, Joanna Mason's family slowly wanders home along a country lane. A moment later, Joanna's life is changed forever...

On a dark night thirty years later, ex-detective Jackson Brodie finds himself on a train that is both crowded and late. Lost in his thoughts, he suddenly hears a shocking sound...

At the end of a long day, 16-year-old Reggie is looking forward to watching a little TV. Then a terrifying noise shatters her peaceful evening. Luckily, Reggie makes it a point to be prepared for an emergency...

These three lives come together in unexpected and deeply thrilling ways in the latest novel from Kate Atkinson, the critically acclaimed author who Harlan Coben calls "an absolute must-read."

"As a reader, I was charmed. As a novelist, I was staggered by Kate Atkinson's narrative wizardry." -- Stephen King

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Marse - LibraryThing

Even before I had ever heard of Kate Atkinson, I loved the title of this book. After several years of worsening health issues in the family, I felt like I was always asking myself "when will there be ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - invisiblelizard - LibraryThing

I am a huge fan of Kate Atkinson in general, but especially of her Jackson Brodie novels. I've rarely encountered a single genre-enmeshed detective story so well written, with such fantastic, well ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2008)

Kate Atkinson's first novel, Behind the Scenes at the Museum, was named England's Whitbread Book of the Year in 1996. Since then, she has written eleven more ground-breaking, bestselling books. She lives in Edinburgh, Scotland.

Bibliographic information