Tales of the Dying Earth: Including 'The Dying Earth,' 'The Eyes of the Overworld,' 'Cugel's Saga,' and 'Rhialto the Marvellous'

Front Cover
Macmillan, 2000 - Fiction - 752 pages
20 Reviews

Jack Vance is one of the most remarkable talents to ever grace the world of science fiction. His unique, stylish voice has been beloved by generations of readers. One of his enduring classics is his 1964 novel, The Dying Earth, and its sequels--a fascinating, baroque tale set on a far-future Earth, under a giant red sun that is soon to go out forever.

This omnibus volume comprised all four books in the series, The Dying Earth, The Eyes of the Overworld, Cugel's Saga and Rialto the Magnificent. It is a must-read for every sf fan.


What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - michaeladams1979 - www.librarything.com

Clever and fun adventures. Kind of a bridge between the fantastique school, the darker side of wizardry and necromancy Clark Ashton Smith worked in, (also featuring a touch of his expansive vocabulary ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - TheDivineOomba - LibraryThing

So this was one of those books that have been sitting in my unread pile for awhile, and I read it to reduce that pile (hah!) So, this volume contains a series of stories set in the days when the sun ... Read full review

Selected pages



Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2000)

Jack Vance, born John Holbrook Vance in 1916, was one of the greatest masters of fantasy and science fiction. He was the winner of many awards for his work and career: the Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award from the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, and the World Fantasy Award for Life Achievement. Among his awards for particular works were the Hugo award in 1963 forThe Dragon Masters, in 1967 forThe Last Castle, and in 2010 for his memoirThis is Me, Jack Vance! He won a Nebula Award in 1966 forThe Last Castle. He won the World Fantasy Award for Best Novel in 1990 forLyonesse: Madouc. . He also won an Edgar for the best first mystery novel in 1961 forThe Man in the Cage.

Vance published more than 60 books in his long career, sometimes under pseudonyms. Among them were 11 mystery novels, three of them as Ellery Queen. He wrote some of the first, and perhaps best, examples of "planetary adventures", including a novel called Big Planet. His "Dying Earth" series were among the most influential fantasy novels ever written, inspiring both generations of writers, and the creators of Dungeons and Dragons.

Vance's series from Tor includeThe Demon Princes,The Cadwal Chronicles,The Dying Earth,The Planet of Adventure, andAlastor. Vance's last novels were a series of two:Ports of Call andLurulu.

Jack Vance was a sailor, a writer, an adventurer, a music critic, and a raconteur. He died in May 2013.

Bibliographic information