Tales of the Dying Earth: Including 'The Dying Earth,' 'The Eyes of the Overworld,' 'Cugel's Saga,' and 'Rhialto the Marvellous'

Front Cover
Macmillan, 2000 - Fiction - 741 pages
142 Reviews

Jack Vance is one of the most remarkable talents to ever grace the world of science fiction. His unique, stylish voice has been beloved by generations of readers. One of his enduring classics is his 1964 novel,The Dying Earth, and its sequels--a fascinating, baroque tale set on a far-future Earth, under a giant red sun that is soon to go out forever.

This omnibus volume comprised all four books in the series,The Dying Earth, The Eyes of the Overworld, Cugel's Saga andRialto the Magnificent. It is a must-read for every sf fan.


What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Vigorous imagination, dexterous and spirited prose. - Goodreads
The writing is unique - Goodreads
But that's just backseat writing. - Goodreads

Review: Tales of the Dying Earth (The Dying Earth #1-4 omnibus)

User Review  - Tristan - Goodreads

Probably the most hilarious dialogue I've ever read. Vance is a master writer and his imagination is boundless. This guys a far better representation of speculative fiction than the likes of Terrys Goodkind and Brooks. Read full review

Review: Tales of the Dying Earth (The Dying Earth #1-4 omnibus)

User Review  - Shawn Misener - Goodreads

Abso-freakin-lutely fantastic. A unique set of novels that brim with more imagination than the love child of China Mieville and Miles Davis. What seem like simple tales of fantasy quests turn out to ... Read full review

Selected pages



Common terms and phrases

About the author (2000)

Jack Vance, born John Holbrook Vance in 1916, was one of the greatest masters of fantasy and science fiction. He was the winner of many awards for his work and career: the Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award from the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, and the World Fantasy Award for Life Achievement. Among his awards for particular works were the Hugo award in 1963 for The Dragon Masters, in 1967 for The Last Castle, and in 2010 for his memoir This is Me, Jack Vance! He won a Nebula Award in 1966 for The Last Castle. He won the World Fantasy Award for Best Novel in 1990 for Lyonesse: Madouc. . He also won an Edgar for the best first mystery novel in 1961 for The Man in the Cage.

Vance published more than 60 books in his long career, sometimes under pseudonyms. Among them were 11 mystery novels, three of them as Ellery Queen. He wrote some of the first, and perhaps best, examples of "planetary adventures", including a novel called Big Planet. His "Dying Earth" series were among the most influential fantasy novels ever written, inspiring both generations of writers, and the creators of Dungeons and Dragons.

Vance's series from Tor include The Demon Princes, The Cadwal Chronicles, The Dying Earth, The Planet of Adventure, and Alastor. Vance's last novels were a series of two: Ports of Call and Lurulu.

Jack Vance was a sailor, a writer, an adventurer, a music critic, and a raconteur. He died in May 2013.

Bibliographic information