The North Ship

Front Cover
Faber, 1966 - Poetry - 48 pages
2 Reviews
The North Ship, a book of poems, Philip Larkin's earliest volume of verse, was first published in August 1945. The introduction, by Larkin himself, explains the circumstances of its publication and the influences which shaped its contents.

What people are saying - Write a review

Review: The North Ship

User Review  - Emily - Goodreads

The genius that Larkin became is definitely in here somewhere but as you can tell from his own introduction the opportunity for a full collection came along surprisingly early in his career and I doubt I'm alone in thinking it was slightly too early. Read full review

Review: The North Ship

User Review  - Chris Lilly - Goodreads

This is Larkin in his twenties, during the War, and he hasn't found a voice. Very 'poetic', lots of inversion, echoes of Walter de la Mere. This is juvenilia, and one wouldn't be reading it if he hadn ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (1966)

Philip Larkin was a British poet, novelist, critic, and essayist. Born in 1922 in Coventry, England, he graduated from St. John's College, Oxford, in 1940 and then pursued a career as a librarian, becoming the librarian at the University of Hull in 1955. Although he led a retiring life and published infrequently, producing only one volume of poetry approximately every 10 years, Larkin was still considered one of the preeminent contemporary British poets. He is often associated with the "Movement," a 1950s literary group that, through the use of colloquial language and common, everyday subjects, endeavored to create poetry that would appeal to the common reader. However, this association came about mainly because Larkin's poem "Church Going," for which he first gained critical attention, was published in New Lines, an anthology of the "Movement" poets. In reality, his work, particularly his later poems, is not typical of the group. Larkin's published a total of only four volumes of poetry: The North Ship (1945), The Less Deceived (1955), The Whitsun Weddings (1964), and High Windows (1974). He also wrote two novels, Jill and A Girl in Winter, and published two volumes of prose, Required Writing and All That Jazz, a collection of his reviews of jazz records. Philip Larkin died in 1985.

Bibliographic information