Front Cover
Pan Books, 2007 - Detective and mystery stories - 661 pages
4 Reviews
Autumn, 1541: Following the uncovering of a plot against his throne in Yorkshire, King Henry VIII has set out on a spectacular Progress to the North to overawe his rebellious subjects there. Accompanied by a thousand soldiers, the cream of the nobility, and his fifth wife Catherine Howard, the King is to attend an extravagant submission of the local gentry at York. Already in the city are lawyer Matthew Shardlake and his assistant Jack Barak. As well as assisting with legal work processing petitions to the King, Shardlake has reluctantly undertaken a special mission - to ensure the welfare of an important but dangerous conspirator being returned to London for interrogation. But the murder of a local glazier involves Shardlake in deeper mysteries, connected not only to the prisoner in York Castle but to the royal family itself. As the King and the Great Progress arrive in the city, Barak stumbles upon a terrifying secret, and a chain of events unfolds that will leave Shardlake to face the most terrifying fate a subject of Henry VIII can fear... his own imprisonment in the Tower of London.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Olivermagnus - LibraryThing

Sovereign is the third book in the very compelling series about Matthew Shardlake, a hunchbacked lawyer working in London during the reign of Henry VIII. Formerly working under Cromwell, he now works ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - nog - LibraryThing

Another compelling tale in the Shardlake series. I did notice a rare anachronism: he used the word "graffiti", which did not enter Italian vocabulary until the early 1850's, so its use by an Englishman in the 1540's would not have occurred. Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2007)

C J Sansom was educated at Birmingham University, where he took a BA and then a PhD in history. After practising as a solicitor, he became a full-time writer. Sovereign is the third novel in Sansom's acclaimed Shardlake series, following Dissolution and Dark Fire. He lives in Sussex.

Bibliographic information