Mozart: Studies of the Autograph Scores

Front Cover
Harvard University Press, 1987 - Music - 381 pages

The results and implications of Alan Tyson's work on Mozart have had a profound impact on virtually every aspect of research on this composer: biography, chronology of compositions, working methods, stylistic analysis. Central, perhaps, are Tyson's discoveries on chronology: time and again he has proved that datings, often of large, well-known works, that have been accepted for generations are not only erroneous but based on little more than speculation. This book assembles his major articles, previously scattered through magazines, journals, and festschrifts, plus two unpublished pieces, into a treasure trove for musicologists and music lovers.

Tyson's investigations, using primarily paper analysis, span Mozart's entire career and the full range of genres--string quartets, operas, choral music, keyboard music, concertos, and symphonies. He goes into the genesis of major works such as Cosi fan tutte, the "Prague" Symphony, the Piano Sonata K.333, the "Haydn" quartets, and La clemenza di Tito. His conclusions about chronology bear directly on biographical questions and current accounts of Mozart's stylistic development as well as his compositional methods. We learn here, for example, that the "first" horn concerto was in fact Mozart's last, and that he did not even complete the second movement, which was finished after his death by his pupil Süssmayr. The writing (and, in some cases, rewriting) of his later operas such as Figaro and Cosi fan tutte also lends itself to investigation by the same techniques; this is resulting in the rediscovery of some lost measures and little-known variant versions of arias. Tyson's style is clear and elegant, and the originality of his work and the soundness of his inferences make this book a pleasure.


What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Some Stylistic and Biographical
New Light on Mozarts Prussian Quartets
La clemenza di Tito and Its Chronology
S A Reconstruction of Nannerl Mozarts Music Book
The Date of Mozarts Piano Sonata in Bflat
The Contribution
The Origins of Mozarts Hunt Quartet K 458
The Two Slow Movements of Mozarts Paris
The Dates of Mozarts Missa brevis K 258 and Missa
On the Composition of Mozarts Così fan tutte
Mozarts Use of 10Staff and 12Staff Paper
Notes on the Genesis of Mozarts Ein musikalischer
The Rondo for Piano and Orchestra K 386

Lessons from the Autograph Score

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1987)

Alan Tyson was a Fellow of All Souls College, Oxford.

Bibliographic information