High Windows

Front Cover
Faber & Faber, Jan 1, 1979 - English poetry - 42 pages
43 Reviews
Larkin's final collection of poems shows, as does all his best work, his ability to adapt contemporary speech rhythms and everyday vocabulary to subtle metrical patterns and poetic forms. Many of the poems in the collection, which includes some of his best-known pieces ('The Old Fools', 'This Be the Verse', 'The Explosion', and the title poem) show the preoccupation with death and transience that is so typical of the poet.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: High Windows

User Review  - Serene Lim - Goodreads

A handful of masterpieces amongst mostly mediocre works I struggled to get through. Having said that, 'High Windows', 'This Be The Verse', 'Money' and 'The Old Fools' make it worth the effort. Read full review

Review: High Windows

User Review  - Goodreads

Easy to "get" and fun to read, kind of mean, also funny, and it has these bits in it where I was like, oh yeah, it is a poem. There are feelings in it, he isn't just showing off how clever he is with words and rhymes and all that. Read full review

All 32 reviews »

About the author (1979)

Philip Larkin was a British poet, novelist, critic, and essayist. Born in 1922 in Coventry, England, he graduated from St. John's College, Oxford, in 1940 and then pursued a career as a librarian, becoming the librarian at the University of Hull in 1955. Although he led a retiring life and published infrequently, producing only one volume of poetry approximately every 10 years, Larkin was still considered one of the preeminent contemporary British poets. He is often associated with the "Movement," a 1950s literary group that, through the use of colloquial language and common, everyday subjects, endeavored to create poetry that would appeal to the common reader. However, this association came about mainly because Larkin's poem "Church Going," for which he first gained critical attention, was published in New Lines, an anthology of the "Movement" poets. In reality, his work, particularly his later poems, is not typical of the group. Larkin's published a total of only four volumes of poetry: The North Ship (1945), The Less Deceived (1955), The Whitsun Weddings (1964), and High Windows (1974). He also wrote two novels, Jill and A Girl in Winter, and published two volumes of prose, Required Writing and All That Jazz, a collection of his reviews of jazz records. Philip Larkin died in 1985.

Bibliographic information