Brahms 2: Biographical, Documentary and Analytical Studies, Volume 2

Front Cover
Reader in Music Michael Musgrave, Michael Musgrave, Robert Pascall
Cambridge University Press, Apr 16, 1987 - Biography & Autobiography - 252 pages
This second volume of Brahms studies contains twelve contributions by leading international authorities on various music. Like the preceding volume of the same title (edited by Robert Pascall), Michael Musgrave's volume aims to provide original scholarly material on different facets of a major composer still inadequately discussed in book form and employs more precise methods of analysis and more critical approaches to materials then generally available in writings on Brahms in English. Half of the volume takes the music itself as focus, though from very different vantage points. There are two studies of a single opus (the two String Quartets Op. 51 Nos, 1 and 2), discussions of the Fourth Symphony and the motet 'Warum', and a view of Brahms's harmony. The underlying historical theme emerges more openly in an account of Brahms's interest in German Renaissance music. The remaining essays give details of the state of Brahms's unpublished compositions and arrangements at his death and the problematic disposal of his possessions (including musical ones), explore his own attitude to his historical position, and outline the reception of his music in Germany and, to begin with, in England.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Selected pages


Brahms and England1
The establishment of a Brahms repertoire 18901902
New light on the Brahms Nachlass
Brahmss Way a composers selfview
Brahmss posthumous compositions and arrangements editorial problems and questions of authenticity
Brahmss links with German Renaissance music a discussion of selected choral works1
Brahmss Missa canonica and its recomposition in his Motet Warum Op 74 No 1
Two of a kind? Brahmss Op 51 finales
Motivic design and structural levels in the first movement of Brahmss String Quartet in C minor1
The Sceptred Pall Brahmss progressive harmony
Brahms the indecisive notes on the first movement of the Fourth Symphony1

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

Bibliographic information