When Wings Expand

Front Cover
Kube Publishing Ltd, Feb 12, 2013 - Juvenile Fiction - 150 pages

Winner of the Unpublished Muslim Writer's Award 2011.

She wrapped her arms around me and said, "Nur! I know. I don't want to go. But all I can do is keep trusting in Allah. Nur, I will always be with you! My love and advice will always be with you to guide you in the right direction." She patted my heart. "They are forever sealed inside this little place."

Writing on the pages of her journal, Nur, a teenage girl in Canada, charts the onset and advance of her mother's cancer. Nur watches her mother's body begin to shrink and her mood begin to darken. And when family and friends begin to encroach, Nur must face the prospect of her mother's looming death.

Nur bears the crushing loss and finds her adolescent life more demanding and complex. But with the legacy of her mother's love, her family's support, and the guidance of her faith, she manages to overcome the searing pain and use her newfound strength to bring joy to the lives of others, showing them that after death wings can expand.

Mehded Maryam Sinclair is a professional storyteller with twenty-five years of experience. Her career as a touring and teaching artist began with Vermont Council. She lived in Turkey for ten years, teaching language and storytelling, and now resides in Amman, Jordan. Mehded is the author of two picture books, Miraculous Happenings in the Year of the Elephant and A Trust of Treasures (both published by Kube Publishing, Ltd).


 

What people are saying - Write a review

WHEN WINGS EXPAND

User Review  - Kirkus

A 12-year-old Canadian Muslim girl chronicles the death of her terminally ill mother and her slow healing.When the book opens, Nur's mother has been sick for months, and treatments seem to be going ... Read full review

Selected pages

Contents

Thursday August 14 08
105
Friday August 15 08
108
Tuesday August 26 08
109
Wednesday August 27 08
111
Thursday August 28 08
113
Friday August 29 08
114
Saturday August 30 08
115
Sunday August 31 08
117

Sunday May 25 08
17
Monday May 26 08
19
Tuesday May 27 08
20
Wednesday May 28 08
21
Thursday May 29 08
22
Monday June 2 08
23
Tuesday June 3 08
24
Wednesday June 4 08
25
Friday June 6 08
26
Saturday June 7 08 Around Noon
27
Saturday June 7 08 After Sunset
28
Sunday June 8 08
31
Monday June 9 08
33
Tuesday June 10 08
36
Thursday June 12 08
39
Friday June 13 08
41
Friday June 13 08 evening
43
Saturday June 14 08
45
Monday June 16 08
46
Wednesday June 18 08
48
Monday June 23 08
49
Friday June 27 08
50
Thursday July 3 08
51
Friday July 4 08
52
Saturday July 5 08
54
Tuesday July 8 08
56
Wednesday July 9 08
57
Thursday July 10 08
62
Friday July 11 08
63
Saturday July 12 08
64
Sunday July 13 08
66
Monday July 14 08
68
Tuesday July 15 08
71
Wednesday July 16 08
72
Thursday July 17 08
73
Friday July 18 08
77
Sunday July 20 08
79
Monday July 21 08
82
Tuesday July 22 08
83
Wednesday July 23 08
84
Thursday July 24 08
85
Friday July 25 08 Black Friday
86
Saturday July 26 08
87
Sunday July 27 08
88
Monday July 28 08
90
Tuesday July 29 08
91
Wednesday July 30 08
92
Thursday July 31 08
93
Friday August 1 08
94
Saturday August 2 08
96
Sunday August 3 08
97
Monday August 4 08
98
Wednesday August 6 08
99
Sunday August 10 08
100
Monday August 11 08
101
Tuesday August 12 08
102
Wednesday August 13 08
104
Monday September 1 08
118
Friday September 5 08
120
Monday May 3 10
123
Tuesday May 4 10
127
Wednesday May 5 10
131
Thursday May 6 10
133
Friday May 7 10
136
Saturday May 8 10
137
Sunday May 16 10
138
Morning
140
Evening
141
Friday June 11 10
142
Saturday June 12 10
147
Sunday June 13 10
149
Tuesday June 15 10
151
Wednesday June 16 10
152
Thursday June 17 10
153
Friday June 18 10
154
Saturday June 19 10
156
Wednesday June 23 10
157
Thursday July 1 10
158
Saturday July 3 10
159
Sunday July 4 10
160
Saturday July 10 10
161
Monday July 12 10
163
Tuesday July 13 10
164
Wednesday July 14 10
165
Thursday July 15 10
166
Friday July 16 10
167
Saturday July 17 10
168
Sunday July 18 10
169
Monday July 19 10
173
Tuesday August 10 10
175
Wednesday August 11 10
176
Thursday August 12 10
177
Late Evening
180
Friday August 13 10
182
Saturday August 14 10
184
Monday August 16 10
185
Tuesday August 17 10
186
Wednesday August 18 10
188
Thursday August 19 10
189
Friday August 20 10
191
Saturday August 21 10
192
Monday August 23 10
193
Tuesday August 24 10
199
Wednesday August 25 10
200
Thursday August 26 10
202
Morning
203
Morning
204
Afternoon
205
Sunday August 29 10
206
Morning
213
Evening
214
Glossary
218
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2013)

Mehded is a professional story teller with 25 years of experience. Her career as a touring and teaching artist began with Vermont Council. She performed in various venues from school, colleges to theater. She lived in Turkey for 10 years teaching language and story telling and now resides in Amman, Jordan.